Ham and Potato Quiche

I started reading I Capture the Castle by Dodie Smith (author of 101 Dalmatians) last week, it is nothing short of BEAUTIFUL. I won’t share any of the surprises here, but if you are a fan of anything Jane Austen, you will enjoy this book. At one point the characters in the book are bestowed a ham. The author describes the ham so wonderfully, it made me hunger for ham.

Ham can be expensive, at least for our budget. I ended up finding a sale bone-in ham for $12 at Rosauer’s. We enjoyed a few days of delicious ham sandwiches, I froze some leftovers and used some leftovers for this quiche.

I used leftover tortilla dough for the crust, I was hoping it was going to solve all my crust isues, but unfortunately it ended up being just weird. . . I highly recommend using your own pie crust recipe or pre-made crust.

We had a lot of potatoes, so I used those as well. Matt and I don’t enjoy excessive amounts of cheese, so feel free to add more cheese to the recipe.

Ham and Potato Quiche

8 small potatoes, cut into chunks

2 onions, chopped and sautéed till soft

2 cups of chopped ham

4 eggs

1 cup egg substitute

1 cup milk

2 tsp pepper

1 TB salt

1 tsp paprika

1/2 cup shredded parmesan cheese

Pie Crust (your choice)

Whisk eggs, egg substitute, milk, pepper, salt and paprika together until smooth. Press your choice of pie crust into 9 x 13 casserole baking dish, spread potatoes, ham and onions evenly into pan, pour in egg mixture. Sprinkle parmesan cheese on top. Bake in 350 degree for 45-50 minutes or until a knife comes out clean.

Leave a Reply

