Homemade Tortillas

There were great tortillerias in the small towns around where I grew up, they’ve all but disappeared. It’s quite unfortunate since a freshly made tortilla and a packaged store-bought tortilla are practically two different foods.

It’s quite a shame since homemade tortillas are really easy to make. Way easier than pizza dough even.  I don’t really know why I don’t make them more often. Since we started making them from scratch I haven’t purchased flour tortillas from the store (although I rarely did anyway).

I could eat homemade tortillas with homemade refried beans for dinner and probably not feel that bad about it.

One cringe moment with this recipe . . .  it contains lard, which kind of makes my stomach turn. If you’ve read my rants and ravings on this blog long enough, especially my tamale post, you know I have a complicated relationship with lard. It’s yucky animal fat, right?

HOWEVER. I think I would like to recant my statements against lard.

I dusted off the old nutrition books, and did some mild research.

The current thought process on eating healthy is to eat UN-saturated fats and limit saturated fats. Unsaturated fats include olive oil, which is what we hear about all day long, (unsaturated fats have been found to lower “bad” cholesterol levels)

Butter and lard have both unsaturated and saturated fats in them. But lard has MORE unsaturated fats than saturated fats in it even though it is higher in calories than butter. Butter has more saturated fats than unsaturated fats but fewer calories.

And in all of this please bear in mind that you commonly don’t use lard in excess like Paula Deen uses butter. This tortilla recipe makes 20 tortillas with 2 TABLESPOONS of lard.

And besides all of this, I think we should be WAY MORE CONCERNED about filling our guts full of sugar and processed grains rather than quibble over a little fat.

And yet again I digress. . .

Back to the recipe

Matt and I whip up a batch of tortillas in 10 minutes flat. The first time took longer because we had to figure out how to roll them, cook them, etc. We usually just make up the ones we want for the meal and store the dough in the fridge. We’ve stored the dough for up to 5 days and it’s still worked fine.

I like tortillas because they are carb-y without overloading you with carbs, not like mashed potatoes or noodles. That statement made sense in my head.

We are out of a lot of vegetables today, we did have zucchini tho! So, sautéed that up with a lonely chicken breast and defrosted some fantastic black beans. Topped with sour cream and salsa and it was FANTASTIC.

(Never underestimate the deliciousness of zucchini)

Homemade Tortillas

4 cups all-purpose flour
1 teaspoon salt
2 teaspoons baking powder
2 tablespoons lard
1 1/2 cups water

Whisk the flour, salt, and baking powder together in a mixing bowl. Mix in the lard with your fingers until the flour resembles cornmeal. Add the water and mix until the dough comes together; place on a lightly floured surface and knead a few minutes until smooth and elastic. Divide the dough into 24 equal pieces and roll each piece into a ball.

Preheat a large skillet over medium-high heat. Use a well-floured rolling pin to roll a dough ball into a thin, round tortilla. Place into the medium-hot skillet, and cook until bubbly; flip and continue cooking until golden on the other side. Place the cooked tortilla in a tortilla warmer; continue rolling and cooking the remaining dough or store in the fridge for up to 5 days.

One Comment on “Homemade Tortillas”

  1. Veggiewitch says:

    I make my own tortillas, too, and I’ll never go back to store-bought. Ick!
    Veggiewitch ♥


Leave a Reply

