Brownies in the Raw

Okay, I’ve heard of such things, but I really didn’t believe there could be a better gluten-free, low carb brownie out there that beats my black bean brownies, yes, shamelessly arrogant brownie snob here.

But if there is a brownie that is up for the challenge of dethroning the black bean brownies in this house it’s these raw brownies.

They require no cooking, no stirring, no bowl, no eggs, oil or butter.

Oh my. They are incredible.

However I made an elementary cook mistake while preparing them

The brownies call for dates, I had never used dates before, and I didn’t realize they had seeds.

Huge seeds in fact, like the size of a small almond.

Really. Hard. Seeds.

And I plopped 13 dates into my poor indentured servant, Mr. Cuisinart F. Processor, and pushed start. The poor dear tilted on two feet one way and then the back to his other two feet then his blade disconnected and made a horrible sound.

Oh Cuisi, forgive me for those horrible seeds that knocked you senseless. I think after a nice soak in the sink ahem “bath” he is recovering.

But, please, friends, I’m sure you are all aware of date seeds, I was not. Please beware, they do not grind.

There are many raw brownie recipes, and I played with a few of them until I found my ideal. Some call for bananas, avocados, maple syrup, walnuts, cashews. They ALL call for cocoa powder

A word on Cocoa Powder and the different types here

I used Trader Joe’s unsweetened cocoa powder, oh it’s so good.

These brownies are insanely easy to make, you do need a food processor, and a few hours to chill brownies.

Brownies in the Raw

1 cup pecans

1/2 cup almonds

3/4 cup cocoa powder

1 TB honey

12-13 Medjool Dates **SEEDS REMOVED**

1 tsp vanilla

1/2 cup chocolate chips (optional)

Place 1 cup of pecans and almonds in food processor, pulse until ground finely. Add dates, remember to remove the seeds (haha), 2 at a time, and use the pulse button to incorporate them slowly. Add cocoa, honey and vanilla. Pulse gradually until the brownie mixture looks like really great soil.

Press into 8×8 pan that is lined with saran wrap (add chocolate chips at this point). Allow to chill in refrigerator for at least 1 hour.

Cut into 12 brownies. Store covered and refrigerated (I wouldn’t be that concerned about it, other than the fact that the medjool date container from TJs says to refrigerate after opening).

I brought some to gathering with friends yesterday, and they were a hit! This is my beautiful friend Annie May, miss that girl already!

6 Comments on “Brownies in the Raw”

  1. interesting combination!

    come check out our food blog!! https://www.facebook.com/NeedleandFork

  2. I haven’t cooked with dates either but, in many recipes where they are used, I’ve noted that the author suggests soaking the dates in water to soften them…er, after you’ve removed the seeds. 🙂

    • Laura says:

      Haha, good advice! I’ll have to try soaking them, dates are pretty terrific, I’ll definitely want to cook with them again.

  3. bethsnewlife says:

    I might try these. And I wouldn’t have known to remove the seeds, either. 🙂

  4. […] the raw brownies  I made a few weeks ago were a success I thought I’d try some of the other energy balls I […]


Leave a Reply

