Soba noodles with tofu and veggies

To be quite honest, the jury is still out for me on soy.

Soy is in EVERYTHING these days, modified soy protein in so many processed foods.

Soy contains phytoestrogens, chemicals that imitate the hormone estrogen. That doesn’t even sound good, right?

Soy also has phytates in it which can slow absorption of minerals. Quite a few foods when eaten with other foods inhibit or increase absorption, so it’s something to be aware of but probably not freak out about.

I don’t want to write off soy products completely. It is a bean afterall. I tend to think that soy becomes a danger when it’s the majority food product in your diet. Soy cheese, soy milk or tofu at every meal. That is why I question a strict vegan diet, especially if you are just “replacing” dairy and meat with soy products. I understand loving animals, that’s great. I love them too. But that doesn’t mean you have to stuff yourself with soy in an effort to avoid eating them.

BUT on the other hand, soy beans have a lot of great benefits as well, low fat, high protein, associated with reduced risk of hypertension, high levels of isoflavones, the list goes on and on.

Well, as LeVar Burton used to say on Reading Rainbow and what he now tweets all the time #BYDHTTMWFI

“But you don’t have to take my word for it. . .”

Neonatal Phytoestrogen Exposure

Soy protein and triglycerides 

Soy Protein and reducing reoccurrence of Breast Cancer

Soy and Sperm (because you always wondered, right?)

Uh oh. I just got a little opinionated there, better be careful. Ahem, back to the meal.

I had picked up some Soba noodles for some variety, traditional Japanese buckwheat noodles.

I just got home from a weekend in Vancouver/Portland visiting my family. So, I didn’t have time to grocery shopping, I thought I’d just throw together a meal with the veggies I had on hand, red onions, fresh green beans and broccoli.

I like my tofu to not taste like tofu, obviously, right? So I “dry fried” it, pretty much just chopping up your tofu and  pan frying it (sans oil) to get the extra moisuture out so it will easily soak up the marinade.

I chopped the tofu up, that wasn’t a great idea, it would have been easier to dry it out if I had left them in slices. Just cooked them on medium low heat for 5 minutes, pressing down with a spatula and flipping periodically.

I then made a marinade poured it into a ziplock and tossed the tofu in there to hang out for 2 hours

Then cooked the veggies, carmelized the onions, boiled the noodles and then heated everything up. It was yummy.

Totally a chopsticks food.

I’m a little bit of a chopsticks snob, I’ll admit it. I actually think some foods taste better when consumed with chopsticks. And I picked up some bamboo ones recently I was excited to try out.

Soba noodles with Tofu and Veggies

1 lb Super Firm Tofu, chopped (or sliced, then chopped like I mentioned above)

1/4 cup rice vinegar

1/3 cup low sodium soy sauce

2 tsp sesame oil

6 cloves garlic, chopped

2 tsp Sriracha sauce (add more if you want more heat)

2 TB honey

1 TB Fish Sauce (omit if you want vegan)

Slice up tofu, dry fry for 10 minutes, flipping from side to side until tofu darkens slightly and is dry to the touch, mix up marinade of rice vinegar, soy sauce, sesame oil, garlic, sriacha, honey and fish sauce, pour over tofu and allow to marinate for at least 1 hour (I did 2). Overnight would be ideal!

1 red onion, sliced

1/2 lb broccoli, chopped

2 cups fresh green beans, ends chopped off

1 package Soba noodles

Caramelize onions on a covered pan for 10-15 minutes, pour onions into a bowl, set pan aside. Using onion pan add 1/2 cup water, broccoli and green beans, heat to medium heat and cook covered 5 minutes or until broccoli turns bright green. Remove broccoli, allow green beans to cook another 5 minutes or until tender, drain excess water. Add broccoli, onions, green beans and tofu with marinade to pan, heat on low heat while cooking the noodles.

Boil soba noodles (they take significantly shorter time than wheat pasta noodles, follow package directions, but usually 4-5 minutes). Drain and add noodles to pan. Toss until noodles are covered in marinade.

Serves 4 easily.

Matt and I added more sriacha sauce, I would have LOVED to top it with chopped peanuts and cilantro!

2 Comments on “Soba noodles with tofu and veggies”

  1. Julie Murphy says:

    You might want to edit your recipe, honey is not vegan friendly either.


Leave a Reply

