Kale Garbanzo Peanut Stew

Garbanzo Beans are so great. Matt and I eat them with hummus often, or toss them into salads. But I don’t cooked with them as often as I should. This was a “throw” together meal. But it turned out so tasty, I know I will do it again. I even froze leftovers for Matt’s lunches this week.

I used dry garbanzos. I need to get into the habit of soaking them overnight. For this recipe I used the Speed Soaking Method which worked magic on these guys.

I used the remainder of my carrots

And one lonely little zucchini

I used a full bag of chopped Kale. It was overkill, but we love kale and the terrific flavor and crunch it gives a meal, so couldn’t pass it up.

I used leftover kielbasa, it was the only part of this meal I didn’t love. Really didn’t need the meat with all those beans. If you choose to add meat to this recipe I think chicken, (or tofu chunks?)

Kale Garbanzo Peanut Stew

8 cups chicken broth

1 onion, chopped

1/2 Kielbasa, sliced into coin

2 cups dry garbanzo, soaked

15 small carrots, peeled, chopped

1 small zucchini, chopped

1 tsp black pepper

2/3 cup peanut butter

1 bag of chopped Kale

Chopped peanuts for garnish

Sriracha Sauce to taste

Heat chicken stock on medium heat in a large pot, add garbanzos, allow to gently cook while sauteing the onions, carrots and the kielbasa, stir in onions and kielbasa into chicken stock. Cook on medium heat for 45 minutes, checking tenderness of garbanzos. Add peanutbutter stir till incorporated, toss in zuchinni and kale stir gently till kale is slightly softened. Serve with naan possibly?

6 servings

2 Comments on “Kale Garbanzo Peanut Stew”

  1. Sarah Butler says:

    I LOVE this idea! I am always trying to incorporate kale into more dishes, especially since I got RED kale from my CSA and have been dying to use it! Thank you for sharing!


Leave a Reply

