Lemon Cookies with Blueberry Curd

Rosauers had the most beautiful, chubby, lemons for sale this week, swoon! They were beautiful, take a look.

Whilst loading up my bag with lemons I got the “La la la la Lemons” song stuck in my head. Have you heard it?

It goes something like this (with the addition of my abridged internal dialogue)

“. . .La la la la LEMONS (These are beautiful lemons, what can I do with them?)

 . . . la la la la LIGHT BULB (I have a great idea, I’ll make lemon curd for blueberry scones!)

. . . la la la la LAMP POST ( That’s too boring, I’ll make blueberry curd with LEMON scones).

. . . la la la la LUMPS IN MY OATMEAL (oatmeal? oatmeal cookies? COOKIES, lemon cookies and blueberry curd, EUREKA!)”

And thus this recipe was born.

Lemon cookies are pretty straight forward. I wanted to use as much of those lovely lemons as possible. I started with the peel.

I got a lemon zester with an order to Pampered Chef like a decade ago. It is one of my favorite kitchen gadgets.

Mmmm, the zest, made my hands and kitchen smell good.

A note on zesting: don’t press too hard, you just want the yellow peel, not the pith (white part), it’s bitter.

Lemon juice as well as lemon zest made these cookies so good.

This cookie dough does well with some refrigeration. I got it off of allrecipes.com

Lemon Cookies

1 stick butter, softened

1/2 cup sugar

1 egg

1 1/2 flour

Juice of 1 lemon (3-4 TB)

Zest of 1 lemon (2 TB)

1/2 tsp baking soda

1/2 tsp salt

Cream sugar and butter together, add egg & lemon juice. Sift flour, soda and salt together, mix together. Refrigerate for awhile . . . an hour or more perhaps?

The blueberry curd, however, meant venturing out into the unknown. I foolishly didn’t Google blueberry curd before formulating my own version. I did look at a recipe from allrecipes for lemon curd, to get the general idea, and I read the Wikipedia article, good enough to make me think I knew what I was doing.

Blueberries: it’s still April, and in Washington we really don’t have fresh blueberries, not even California stock yet. So I used frozen.

I de-forsted and blended them

A large part of curd, evidently is the butter egg combo. . . interesting

And since it was a mix of egg, butter, sugar and fruit I figured a double boiler would be best so I didn’t cook the egg in the berries (EW!), but I didn’t have one, so I went all MacGyver and came up with this slightly dangerous solution

Not ideal by any means, but it got the job done.

I mixed the blueberries, eggs, butter and sugar and 4 TB cornstarch together, and cooked it on high, whisking constantly, it took about 30 minutes

Blueberry Curd

1 cup sugar

1/2 stick butter

3 Eggs, whisked

Zest of 1 lemon

1.5 cups blueberries, pureed

4 TB cornstarch

Ideally in a double boiler, fill the bottom full of water, heat to gentle boil, in top portion of double boiler put butter, sugar and lemon zest, stir gently till butter is melted, slowly add eggs, add blueberries, whisk gently, slowly add the cornstarch 1 TB at a time, cook till temperature of curd is 170, cook 5 minutes. Take off heat and allow to cool for 20 minutes, cover and chill.

Serve on scones, cookies, toast, cake, on top of ice cream, really so many ideas. Tell me what worked best for you!

So, after this run around with the blueberry curd I found that I was late for a very important date, so instead of rolling out the lemon cookies I “drop cookie-ed” em’ and called it good.

Not too pretty but popular.

The cookies tasted great, but looked kind of “meh”.

Fast forward to today, I had some left over dough and some cookie cutters . . .

Much better already.

Absolutely adorable, if I do say so.

These cookies can be spoon dropped, chilled and rolled out or balled up and rolled in sugar and baked that way. These have a BIG lemon taste without the artificial lemon flavor. Just zest and juice from actual lemons.

Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

