Spinach Quiche

Spinach is such an awesome vegetable.

I was a undergrad when a nation-wide spinach recall occurred. My roommate and I commiserated over our un-fullfilled cravings for this terrific green veggie. We ate Romaine lettuce instead, but after those 2 months were over I was thankful to see it back on the shelves and bought two bags for good measure.

My spinach covetousness at this time brought into light how utterly spoiled I am by our modern food system and supermarkets. And really, how ridiculous it was for me to feel inconvenienced or annoyed that I couldn’t readily purchase spinach for a little while. “Get it together Laura, there are children STARVING IN AFRICA and you are whining about fresh spinach REALITY CHECK!”

So here I am, I am thankful for spinach. If it disappears again I won’t be a brat in my heart about it, but I’ll happily await it’s return.

CAUSE SPINACH IS SO FREAKIN GOOD.

(I digress)

. . . back to the quiche . . .

Quiche is my ultimate comfort food, so during this week of finals, scary practical exams and papers I decided it would be a good investment to make a couple of quiches. For layway on busy evenings when I don’t want to cook.

I made my own crust, whole wheat with oil instead of butter, I followed a recipe I had used in the past, but it was very disappointing. I will not include it here, I’ll work on it a bit more before I share it with you guys. So as pretty as this quiche looks the crust wasn’t too great.

But I did take a beautiful picture of the dough ball, want to see?

I would encourage you all to use your favorite pic crust recipe or buy the pre-made kind (really sort of bad for you, but I’ll turn a blind eye).

Take time to caramelize the onions for this recipe, they are sooooo good. A little time consuming, but delicious.

This recipe uses frozen spinach. People have this weird thing with frozen veggies, but if you are concerned about eating food that still contains the same amount of nutrients as it did fresh or pre-processed and you have a choice between frozen and canned, totally go frozen. On every account, spinach, corn, carrots etc. Frozen has higher levels of water-soluble vitamins than canned does.

Spinach Quiche

2 10 oz boxes frozen spinach thawed, drained slightly

2 cups half n’ half

6 eggs

2 onions, chopped

12 slices of bacon, chopped

1 TB oil

3 tsp Salt

3 tsp Pepper

1.5 tsp Nutmeg

1 cup shredded cheese (optional! I didn’t use any, but it makes it yummy).

1/2 cup shaved Parmesan

Take chopped onions and cook on medium low with bacon and oil (if needed, some bacon is so greasy you don’t need it), stir regularly with a lid on your pan to carmalize your onions. Take yer time with it, cook slow, stir often.

If you are using a pre-made pie crust make sure you’ve brought it out of the fridge, it needs a little time to get to room temperature to roll out easy.

Mix spinach, half n’ half, eggs, salt, pepper and nutmeg till eggs are incorporated (cheese too if you are using it). Once onion and bacon are cooked pour into spinach egg mix slowly so you don’t cook your eggs.

Form your pie crust to two pie pans. Pour your quiche mix into it sprinkle Parmesan cheese on top.

Bake for 45 minutes – 1 hour,at 350°  OR as they say “. . . until a tooth pick comes out clean. . . ”

I use far more toothpicks for testing baking food then I ever do as an actual tooth pick.

I prefer my quiche chilled with sriracha sauce on it. Matt prefers it served hot with Valentina sauce.

It stores well, freezes well too.

Shout out to my sweet friend Laura M. for letting me borrow, steal her beautiful white plate, it really is lovely. I will return it shortly.

4 Comments on “Spinach Quiche”

  1. laura says:

    every time you post a recipe that is what i want to eat that day…and you can keep the plate 🙂

  2. Sara says:

    Your quiche is so beautiful!

  3. shyzie says:

    Hi Laura…
    The spinach quiche looks delish…would love to try it out…

    http://www.cookingwithshy.wordpress.com


Leave a Reply

