Chicken sausage, eggplant spread pizza

Have I mentioned how much I enjoy Trader Joes? I really should apply for a job there . . .

I’ve made this pizza several times, my favorite time was when I used crimini mushrooms, mmmm yea! The above version is my lazy version with fried eggs instead of chicken sausage. It’s all about using lavish bread and the eggplant garlic spread for sauce, after that anything goes.

Oh my word. Love this stuff. I almost always have a few jars around, not only as a dip, but as a spread on a tortilla or as a mix in with lentils and beans, yum! So good.

And lavish bread, it has a thickness somewhere between a tortilla and pita bread. Thick enough to make hands only pizza, but thin enough to rival any pre-made thin crust pizza. Yum.

Oh yea. Another TJ product I always have in my freezer. I really do not like sausage, this is my one and only exception. No nasty hunks of fennel (I HATE FENNEL) or gross chewy casing, just smooth, relatively low-fat chicken with spices. The spicy jalepeno is just one of many flavors available at TJs, Matt and I like it the best, but it is spicy, be warned.

So, caramelize some onions, chop up some spinach and tomatoes . . .

Oh, and bake for 10 min at 350°F, then broil for 5 min. Watch carefully, sweet hubby did that part for me.

And then you eat it, it’s good. I like a lot of spinach on mine, Matt likes less spread and more onions. So we make our own. Heats up great the next day too.

Chicken sausage, spinach, tomato and eggplant spread pizza

2 package of  Trader Joe’s Spicy Jalapeno Chicken Sausage

2 Onions, chopped

2 TB canola oil

1 package Trader Joe’s Lavish bread

4 Roma tomatoes, chopped or thinly sliced (your choice)

1 bunch fresh spinach, chopped

1 cup shredded mozzarella

1/2 cup Trader Joe’s Shaved Grana Padamo Parmesan cheese

1 jar Trader Joe’s Eggplant Garlic Spread

12 Crimini Mushrooms, sliced (not shown, but very good)

Serves: 6. This recipe should make about 6 pizzas, 6 sheets of lavish bread worth with ample toppings

1. Saute sausage and onions in oil until onions are soft and semi-caramelized. (saute mushrooms)

2. Preheat oven to 350°F

3. Spray a few non-stick pans, lay out your lavish bread, spread on eggplant spread, top with spinach, tomatoes, onions/chicken sausage/mushroom mix, top with cheese.

Bake at 350 for 10 minutes, and broil for 5 minutes.

Cut and serve, enjoy!

Leave a Reply

