Applesauce

I love applesauce. But not that pale, mealy, pureed putrescence that comes in those little cups or a #10 can. BLECH.

I love my Grandma Stixrud’s applesauce,  it’s dark, sweet and chock full of cinnamon, when she cooks it the house house is filled with the apple cinnamon goodness that smells better than pie. And it’s not pureed to a uniform texture, it’s lumpy. Not a mealy disconcerting lumpy, but a lumpy that makes you remember that, yes, this is indeed apple sauce, made with actual apples.

I love applesauce so much that in college a group of friends would come over to my kitchen and make batches of applesauce (shout out to Beka, my applesauce loving buddy) with old apples. Mmmmm, yum the windows would fog up so much that it looked like it was raining in the inside.

Even though it’s April I still have some of last seasons apples, from my dad. A mixture of Cameos, Red Delicious, Pink Lady and Fujis. Although, if I had the whole orchard at my disposal I would choose a combo of Golden Delicious and Galas with a Granny or too mixed in. I think that is my favorite combo, but this batch tastes AWESOME, so I don’t really know. Betty Crocker will tell you that you absolutely mustn’t cook with a red delicious, but I haven’t found it to be that big of a difference for applesauce.  Pie maybe, but applesauce anything goes.

I really don’t have a recipe, it’s a little different every time. Here is my estimate

Applesauce

30 apples (variety of sizes, most large)

1 cup sugar

1 tsp salt

1. First things first wash your apples

2. Then peel

3. Then chop

4. Then realize that The Hunger Games is showing in 10 minutes so at your favorite cinema, run out of the house like a crazy woman and return 3 hours later to brown apples, darn it. (this step optional)

5. Cook in a pot, filled 1/2 way with water, cook on medium low for 1 hour, stirring occasionally. Use your thickest bottom pot to prevent burning. When apples soften add sugar, salt and cinnamon. Use a masher to mash it all up to your desired consistency.

And that’s just about it. Delicious. Love it! Anybody want to come to a applesauce party next fall?

Leave a Reply

