Chopped Taco Salad

Like any nutrition graduate I love a good salad. However, I am often disappointed in the roughage to yummy bits ratio. For instance eight parts romaine lettuce to one part chicken, dried cranberries, almonds and cucumbers. Blah. The $12 salad was $10 lettuce and $2 yummy part (not really, but you get my drift).

I like well incorporated salads where EVERY bite is delicious and full of flavor.

My other beef with salads is that often they can be awkward to eat. During work lunches I often want to order a salad, but I’m embarrassed at what I might look like trying to shove a 4-inch spinach leaf in my mouth (salads with huge leaves should ALWAYS be served with a knife in my opinion).  I actually think awkward salads are a cause of the general population not ordering them or healthy alternatives in general when they go out. That is probably far fetched, but I think we’ve all had an awkward moment or two with a salad. Not so recently I ate a McDonald’s salad, the ice berg lettuce was in massive chunks and there were these weird shreds of carrot, they looked like orange tongues. I didn’t even have a crummy plastic knife so I just sat there like an idiot shoving huge bits of lettuce and carrots in my face.

However awkward they can be I do love a good salad, they serve a really good taco salad at The Onion here in Spokane, mmmm, drool worthy.

So, let’s review. A salad should be . . . full of flavor, easy enough to eat and . . . oh right – HEALTHY (almost forgot that one)

This salad is healthy, it is DRESSING FREE! None of that corn syrup ridden, trans-fat containing goop. And I promise you won’t miss it with this delicious salad!

That is what inspired this beauty

Chopped Taco Salad

3 hearts of romaine lettuce chopped thin

1 large can Rotel, drained well

2 cans corn, drained or 3 cups defrosted frozen corn

3 cups black beans (if using canned drain and rinse, if using dried cook, rinse & cool)

1 large (24oz) jar salsa (I REALLY like Winco’s Cascade Pride HOT salsa)

1 lb ground turkey, cooked thoroughly and seasoned with taco seasoning OR cumin, chili powder, garlic and salt & pepper

2 Avocados chopped, sprinkled with lemon juice

Make sure the above ingredients are chilled and well drained, toss together gently until incorporated, serve with sour cream and tortilla chips. I just liked mine plain. Matt and I aren’t cheese eaters but shredded cheese would go well with this too, even mixed in.

Yum. And soooo healthy!

I’ve made this twice, once with one can black beans and one can kidney beans, the second time with dried cooked black beans. I missed the kidney beans, but I think the dried cooked beans taste so much BETTER, and less salty too. The second time we put chopped avocado in it, with the high acidity of the salsa it didn’t brown, so that was good.

We also ate this over the period of 3 days, the lettuce wilts a little, but does not loose it’s crunchy consistency.

One Comment on “Chopped Taco Salad”

  1. Naomi says:

    How can you not be cheese eaters!? I thought everyone was a cheese eater. Sounds delish Laura.


Leave a Reply

