Crock Pot Lentil/Garbanzo Masala Stew

Well, April in Spokane involves snow and lots of rain. And really still cold temperatures. So, I’m still cooking stews and soups like it’s January. My most recent invention was inspired by a recipe I pinned, but I altered the recipe significantly, so it’s pretty different.

I got the recipe from http://www.eatliverun.com/crock-pot-chickpea-butternut-squash-and-red-lentil-stew/

I couldn’t find garam masala (I’m sure it’s here in Spokane somewhere, but I didn’t feel like hunting), so I rerouted the recipe and used Masala simmer sauce instead.

I LOVE our new Trader Joe’s (TJs) it’s a blast, I love to go early in the morning before it’s too busy. This recipe is almost entirely from there, so if you don’t have one near by call me and I’ll send you some masala simmer sauce to make this! Mmmm yum!

Crock Pot Lentil/Garbanzo Masala Stew

Served 12? (a lot anyway, poor Matt might be tired of it, I LOVE it still)

1 onion, chopped

4 carrots, chopped

1.5 tsp minced garlic

1 bag chopped Butternut Squash, (32 oz) from TJs

1 jar Masala Simmer Sauce from TJs

1 cup mixed lentil and dry bean mix from TJs

1/2 cup brown lentils

1 large (28oz) can whole tomatoes (I chopped them once I dumped the can in the crock pot, diced would work too)

1 quart organic chicken broth (use veggie if Vegan)

2 cans garbanzo beans

1/2 tsp coriander

1/2 tsp ginger

1 tsp cumin

1/4 tsp cardamom

Salt, Pepper and Sriicha to taste

Heat onions and carrots in a little oil on a pan until carrots are bright orange and onions are softened. Dump in slow cooker with everything else. I let it simmer/cook for 4.5  hours on low, 1 hour of high, that was a minimum, it probably needed a little longer.

We ate it with Naan from TJs.

OMG. It was so good. Very flavorful, aromatic without being too overwhelming. You could easily eat this over brown basmati rice too.

It was cheap too. Despite purchasing pre-chopped butternut from TJs (I hate chopping butternut squash), it was a $12 meal and fed us forever. Also froze well for Matt’s work lunches.

Yum ya yum yum yum.

Leave a Reply

