O stands for Omagosh it’s OCTOBER

Oy.

I really do enjoy blogging. It helps me be more introspective about my life without me just bouncing around from one thing to the next, and I feel some sort of obligation to write here too, obviously not a HUGE obligation because I’m totally neglecting it. Here’s to being better (didn’t I say that last time???)

My life: I still LOVE my job!! We did a huge schedule re-vamp so I’m cooking A LOT more than I used to, which is an adjustment, I enjoy cooking, but the time management involved with cooking a meal, letting dough rise, stuff defrost etc, I am hopelessly pathetic at.

Matt and I did some home improvments, cleaned, organized and PAINTED, it’s fun tan and crimson-y color (GO COUGS).

Village has been great this fall, we have an amazing, faithful group who, for the most part, are seeking change in their lives, I see very little, stagnation and I see a struggle and a seeking toward growth. This is so encouraging!

The sermon series at church, The Beautiful Mess, has absolutely rocked my world, so many of the pitfalls to my faith and to how I relate to God have been addressed in these messages, essentially talking about where God is in the misery, the muck, the awful parts of our lives. How we shouldn’t ask “God, why did this happen?” but instead “God, where are you in the mess, show me the redemption in this.” Simple concepts, but nonetheless areas of confusion and angst in my relationship with the Father.

Matt and I are planning a little trip to Seattle next weekend! So I can take my Dietary Manager Exam, to be Certified (woo hoo). And hang out with my grandparents and Matt’s brother and sister and cousin.

We are also planning a trip to California for Thanksgiving to visit some dear friends! I am so excited to do some moderate traveling, as a poverty stricken student I haven’t had the means to actually travel for leisure, I feel completely spoiled now, but I excuse the indulgence in the name of community seeking (hahaha).

More recently we’ve been playing with the idea of getting a dog. We spotted a fine hound dog from the Humane Society in Pullman,not much is known about the canine other than he howl-barks and likes to stand on his dog-igloo house, it’s so tempting… but I think it’s a better plan to do so when we find ourselves and little bit more permanently placed. In the meantime, we will be doggie foster parents and give him walks now and then. Here is a glance at Mr. Dog. Matt visits him almost every day because the humane society is next to the Pullman Transit office, so additional oppurtunity to pull on our heart strings….

senor perro

I have been having a fun time with autumn cooking, squash, potatoes, carrots, leeks, it’s practically an episode of Veggie Tales in my oven. Recently I tried Butternut Squash Soup with leeks & Pumpkin Muffins! YUM! Quite fun and festive!

Pumpkin Muffins

  • 1 1.5 cups All-purpose Flour
  • 1 1.5 cups whole wheat flour
  • 2 tsps soda
  • 2 tsps baking powder
  • 2 tsp cinnamon
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1 cup egg substitute
  • 1/2 29oz can of pumpkin (the big ones)
  • 1/4 cup oil
  • 1 cup applesauce
  • 1 1/2 cup sugar

Mix properly, plop into muffin tins, bake at 350 for 20 minutes or so, makes 24. YUM.

I was being ridiculous and doubled the recipe, so half the batch I made with chocolate chips, which were immensely popular as well.

One Comment on “O stands for Omagosh it’s OCTOBER”

  1. Jill says:

    I like how you say mix properly. =) It’s sweet. I also adore the puppy!!!!


Leave a Reply

