Apriums

jpeg apriumsJill, Matt and I went back to my parents house for a partial weekend, we looked at cars and shopped for professional clothes (YAY see next blog post!!)

My Dad came down with the very first fruit off the trees, not cherries or apricots but apriums a strange mixture of plums and apricots which wikipedia states as “75% apricot and 25% plum” after the much anticipated taste the consensus was that apriums are like “bad apriocots”.Very dissapointing when you are just so excited to bite into fresh fruit again for the season!

Well, I hate to let good produce go to waste… what to do with bad apricots? I decided to “muffin em'”. I got a recipe off of Allrecipes.com for Peach muffins and altered it. AND although not gluten free, I came up with some mighty fine muffins.

Aprium Muffins

1/2 vegetable oil

3 eggs

1 cup sugar

1.5 cups whole wheat flour

1.5 cups white all purpose flour

2 cups chopped pitted apriums

1 Tablespoon Cinnamon

1 teaspoon baking soda

1 teaspoon salt

1 cup applesauce

You know the drill mix (but not too much) and plop into greased muffin cups. 25minutes at 350 degrees and volia! Fantastic muffins!

The apriums are quite tart, but they give the muffin a fun tangy flavor, delicious! Also I might add that the recipe made 20 muffins, I should have made 24, but no worries.

better muffin

Leave a Reply

