Brownies

black bean browniesBlack Bean Brownies

I’ve had a little bit of an obsessive week, I’ve obsessively cleaned, obsessively locked doors, obsessively read, obsessively made brownies Not a lot of balance. I think it was partially because Matt was away in Oregon for part of the week, and things aren’t quite the same when he is away. Maybe there is too much caffiene in my system but I’ve been a little anxious, not quite my usual.

I made brownies, yes, better brownies, an evolved brownie you might say, it is even gluten free. I’m so pleased with how this recipe turned out and how legitimately healthy it is, with two “superfoods”, this is an antioxidant junky’s dessert of choice.

I’d like to try it with eggbeaters and applesause next time to try to cut some cholesterol, but other than that, these things are pretty darn good for you.

Black Bean Brownies

  • 2 cans black beans, rinsed and drained
  • 6 eggs
  • 1/3 cup canola oil
  • 1/2 cup cocoa powder
  • Pinch of  salt
  • 1 teaspoon baking powder
  • 2 teaspoons vanilla extract
  • 1-1/2 cups white sugar
  • 3teaspoons instant coffee*
  • 1 cup mini chocolate chips (optional)

Combine the black beans, eggs, oil, cocoa powder, salt, vanilla extract, sugar, and instant coffee in a blender; blend until smooth**. Pour the mixture into 13×9 greased pan. Sprinkle the chocolate chips over the top of the mixture. Bake at 350 for 30 minutes, let cool for 10 minutes, cut into 24 brownies.

*The instant coffee is necessary, it masks the “bean-y” taste very well, but is indistinguishable to those with anti-coffee sentiments.

** My blender isn’t quite big enough, so I split the recipe in two and blended. The second time I made these I didn’t quite blend long enough and the brownies were slightly more “beany”, so be sure to blend thoroughly.

Yum! These are also one of those foods that is better the next day! I’d love that phenomenon explained to me, haha.
Enjoy.


2 Comments on “Brownies”

  1. Ashley says:

    I am so glad you posted this! I was telling my mom about them just the other day and I was going to bug you for the recipe…but you are already one step ahead of me…and you included an enticing picture to boot. Impressive. Thank you my dear.

  2. […] didn’t believe there could be a better gluten-free, low carb brownie out there that beats my black bean brownies, yes, shamelessly arrogant brownie snob […]


Leave a Reply

