First things first

First post! So, I’m new to the blogging world, I’m a little horrified that I’m actually doing this. I want to do it for the right reasons, and not just as an outlet for my ever expanding self absorption, so I will start by outlining my goals and self-imposed “rules” for this blog. And when I wander from my initial reasonings… I can go back to blog post numero uno and remember my original purpose.

Reason 1. This blog will not be used for complaining about my incredibly blessed life, blessed not by good fortune entirely, mind you, but by the amazing redemptive love of Jesus, I’ve been big on redemption lately, look out for a blog on redemption coming to theatres soon, rabbit trail, back to business…

Reason 2. This blog will be used for self discovery and introspective thinking, to gather more meaning from each precious day, instead of just living inside my brain occasionally thinking “Oh that is cool and meaningful!” but never truly meditating and applying those meaningful moments and interactions to my life for a heart change.

Reason 3. This blog will contain the story of a journey, as sappy or simple as it might be, I want to be able to look back in 1 month, 1 year, 3 years and think “ah good, I think I’ve grown some”

Reason 4. This blog is not here to impress ANYONE! I’m a crappy speller (can you tell allready?) and due to some residual homeschoolness I’m not a very focused writer either, my life is simple, I live day to day doing normal things. Such will be the topic of this blog. So hello Matt, Beka, Jill, Dorothy, Ashley & Amanda!

Reason 5. The reason I’m blogging and not journaling is that…

I don’t know.

I think there is a certain amount of accountability wanted here, just that daily, bi-weekly etc I write down my thoughts, feelings, experiences for future reference and introspection, hopefully reason 5 doesn’t nullify reason 4.

Those are all my Blog writing reasons I have thus far. More might be added as I process it further.

One Comment on “First things first”

  1. Beka says:

    Laura!
    I absolutely love it! I like how you write and you are NOT a bad speller, that is… unless I am too. 😉 This will be fun and I am very excited! happy “blogging”. Since I know we love that word and all.


Leave a Reply

